the 5 pillars of islam Essay

527 Words3 Pages
Five Pillars of Islam
In order to follow the right path in the Islam religion its followers, Muslims, are required to practice its five pillars, or duties. Each of these duties is mentioned in the Quran; however, scholars have found a more detailed explanation in the Hadith. The five pillars are uttering the Shahada, prayer, zakat, participating in the fast, and a pilgrimage to Mecca.
The first of the five duties is uttering the Shahada, a phrase that declares the faith of the follower. The phrase is, “There is no god but God and Muhammad is His messenger.” This phrase is used in the daily life of Islam’s followers, because this phrase illustrates the central beliefs in the
…show more content…
The zakat, or required almsgiving, is the third of Islam’s duties. This duty means that Muslims must take care of one another. The church requires its followers whose earnings are more substantial than others to pay a certain amount to the church that will then disperse the money to other Muslims that are in need of the money. This duty means that the Islam faith will be there spiritually and monetarily for its followers.
The fourth requirement is for Islam followers to participate in a fast each year during Ramadan. Ramadan takes place in the ninth month of the Islam calendar. During the fast Muslims must avoid eating, drinking, participating in any sexual activities, and smoking during daylight hours. Ramadan displays the Muslims strength of faith by the emphasis that is placed on communal worship and family and social ties.
The fifth and last pillar of faith is the pilgrimage to Mecca, or the Hajj. This pillar requires that any Muslim that is in stable health and financially able to go to Mecca. Upon arrival at Mecca each follower is stripped of all material possessions and given the same robes to wear. During the Hajj the followers will perform rituals that will bring them closer to God.
Each of these five pillars
Open Document