Asked Sep 2, 2019

Anathomy and biology 2nd edition( lab book)


  • Abdominopelvic quadrants & regions?
  • thank you
check_circleExpert Solution
Step 1

The abdominopelvic cavity is the ventral body chamber that consists of the abdominal cavity (primarily the digestive system) and the pelvic cavity (primarily the reproductive system). It can be subdivided into four quadrants and nine regions. 

Step 2

The four abdominopelvic quadrants are defined by the intersection of the sagittal plane with the umbilical plane. These regions are used to determine the organs and tissues that may cause pain or discomfort in that particular region. The quadrants are as follows:

1. Right upper quadrant: This quadrant contains the right portion of the liver, gall bladder, right kidney, part of the stomach, head of the pancreas, portions of the ascending and transverse colon, and parts of the small intestine. Pain in this region is associated with infection and inflammation in the gallbladder and liver or peptic ulcers in the stomach.

2. Right lower quadrant: The left upper quadrant is the location of the left portion of the liver, part of the stomach, pancreas, left kidney, sple...

Want to see the full answer?

See Solution

Check out a sample Q&A here.

Want to see this answer and more?

Solutions are written by subject experts who are available 24/7. Questions are typically answered within 1 hour*

See Solution
*Response times may vary by subject and question
Tagged in




Related Biology Q&A

Find answers to questions asked by student like you

Show more Q&A add

Q: What are the applications for Boiling, Filtration, Dessication, and Incineration?

A: It is required to describe the applications of boiling, Filtration, Dessication and Incineration.


Q: 1. collecting duct 2. glomerulus 3. peritubular capillaries 4. distal convoluted tubule m. a. b. C. ...

A: Nephron is the basic structural and functional unit of the kidney. As blood passes through the kidne...


Q: In cleavage states what is blastomeres, 2-cell stage, 4-cell stage, and 8-cell stage.

A: The question asks to define the blastomere stage (2-celled, 4-celled, and 8-celled).


Q: Can you help me with matching the numbers with concepts

A: Kidney is an important organ of the excretory system and nephron is the basic structural and functio...


Q: _______ is the oxygen-carrying substance in a red blood cell A mature RBC cannot reproduce bc it lac...

A: A red blood cell (RBC), also known as red blood corpuscle or erythrocyte is a major part of the bloo...


Q: How does non-compliance with antibiotic treatment regimens lead to the generation of drug resistant ...

A: Drug resistant bacteria, as the name suggests, are a special type of bacteria that are resistant to ...


Q: What is the function of the following kidney structures- Capsular space, Glomerulus, Glomerular(bowm...

A: The nephron is a complex unitary structure consisting of several complicated substructures like the ...


Q: What are chronic diseases?

A: A disease is any deviation from normal structure or function of cells or organs that produces negati...


Q: How do you do this? can you explain and show me? Replication Given Original DNA strand: ATCCTAGCC. G...

A: Replication is the process by which a double stranded DNA molecule is copied to produce to identical...