Asked Nov 10, 2019

List the five lobes of the cerebrum and the primary function(s) of each lobe.


Expert Answer

Step 1

The nervous system of a human is divided into two subdivisions: the central nervous system or CNS (includes the spinal cord and the brain) and the peripheral nervous system or PNS (includes rest all parts of the nervous system except spinal cord and brain).

Step 2

The cerebrum (part of brain) is developed from the telencephalon present during embryonic development. The cerebrum has a pair of cerebral hemispheres. Thick fold on borders of hemisphere known as gyri, which are further separated by shallow grooves known as sulci. Sometimes, sulci divide each of the hemispheres in five functionally and anatomically distinct lobes. 

The five lobes are: 

1) Frontal lobe: This lobe is present on the superior surface of the eyes and the back of the frontal bone. It extends in the caudal direction from the forehead to the central sulcus. The functions associated with this lobe are motor control, speech, mental processes, and cognition.

2) Parietal lobe: It is present on the upper part of the brain and the lower end of the parietal bone. It extends from central sulcus to the parieto-oc...

Want to see the full answer?

See Solution

Check out a sample Q&A here.

Want to see this answer and more?

Solutions are written by subject experts who are available 24/7. Questions are typically answered within 1 hour.*

See Solution
*Response times may vary by subject and question.
Tagged in




Related Biology Q&A

Find answers to questions asked by student like you
Show more Q&A

Q: A TT (tall) plant is crossed with a tt (short plant). Create the cross and answer the following ques...

A: Since we are entitled to answer up to 3 sub-parts, we’ll answer the first 3 as you have not mentione...


Q: A plant with red flowers is crossed with a plant with white flowers and the resulting offspring have...

A: Given that a plant with red flowers is crossed with a plant with white flowers and the resulting off...


Q: Describe the structure and function of the meningeal membranes that enclose the spinal cord

A: The spinal cord extends from the medulla oblongata present in the brain stem to the lumbar region of...


Q: I need to know the answer to how these are sorted. Somehow, my original answer was incorrect (master...

A: Adaptive immunity or the acquired immunity has specialized cells that helps in elimination of pathog...


Q: Chromosomes that do not determine the sex of an individual are called ______. nonhomologous chrom...

A: Chromosomes can be divided into two types depending on the role it is performing.Namely,Sex chromoso...


Q: what are the examples of simple and conjugated proteins?

A: Proteins are classified on the basis of composition into three types; Simple, Conjugated and Derived...


Q: Genes A, B, and C lie at map positions 2.5, 7.5, and 17.5, respectively. In a three-point test cross...

A: The measure of genetic linkage is termed as recombination frequency, which is used in the constructi...


Q: Describe how to recognize the presence of mutant, antiobiotic resistant bacteria. Where do they come...

A:  Tests to recognize the presence of antibiotic-resistant bacteria.Small wafers containing antibiotic...


Q: Do normal breathing conditions increase or decrease CO2 concentration?

A: Carbon dioxide (CO2) reacts with water to form carbonic acid. Increase in CO2 concentration results ...