Harry Potter's Quidditch Adapted to Play on the Ground Essay

Decent Essays
Nearly 17 years ago in the United Kingdom, a fictional sport known as Quidditch was born into a story that many did not know would captivate the world and eventually become more than people ever dreamt.
Quidditch, found in the Harry Potter series, is a competitive sport that is extremely rough, semi-contact sport played by wizards and witches. Each match is played between two teams of seven players riding flying broomsticks. The seven players include: three chasers, two beaters, one keeper, and one seeker. There are four balls that are used during each match: the Quaffle, two Bludgers, and the Golden Snitch. There are six ring-shaped goals, three on each side of the Quidditch pitch, that stand tall above the ground.
During each match, the
…show more content…
The sport is adapted using elements of rugby, dodgeball, tag, wrestling, and lacrosse.
Just like the National Football League (NFL) and National Hockey League (NHL), Muggle quidditch has its own governing body known as the International Quidditch Association (IQA). It was founded as the Intercollegiate Quidditch Association in 2007 following the very first intercollegiate Quidditch match. The sport has come so far since then and now comprises over 1000 teams and prospective teams from 13+ nations but primarily the United States and Canada.
In 2006, Alex Benepe took over as the Middlebury Commissioner. A year later, in 2007, Alex founded the Intercollegiate Quidditch Association following the first intercollegiate quidditch match between Middlebury College and Vassar College on November 11, 2007.
Since the start of the IQA, they have helped students from more than 400 colleges and 300 high schools form teams. The vast majority of the teams are based in the US, where quidditch is represented in 45 states. The US teams are split into six regions: Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest, Southwest, and West. Other countries with teams or leagues that play by IQA rules include Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, Peru, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, India, South Korea, Australia, and New Zealand.
In 2010, the IQA changed its name to the International Quidditch Association and became a registered nonprofit
    Get Access