British Taxation On The American Revolution

956 Words4 Pages
British Taxation on the Colonies were a series of laws passed between 1763-1775 that regulated trade and taxes. This caused tensions between America and Britain. These laws brought on the American Revolution faster. The British government ended in the Seven Years’ War also known as the French and Indian War with a lot of heavy debts which led to putting taxes on the colonies. Britain felt they also had a problem maintaining order in America. The British Taxation of the Colonies involved Britain increasing revenue in the colonies in order to pay off large debts. There were many taxes that took place during 1764-1765. The Sugar Act of 1764 was the first attempt to finance the defense of the colonies by the British government through taxes…show more content…
This act was based off of the Currency Act of 1751 in New England. Americans opposed it because they feared it will upset their economy. The next act is the Quartering act of 1765. In this act, Parliament orders colonists to house British Troops, even in colonists’ homes. It required local governments in the colonies to provide food for any British soldiers in the area.Many objected to being obligatory to provide housing and food which looked like an attempt to tax them but not camouflaged as such. The New York Assembly argued that it could not be forced to comply. these were one of the first acts created by the British on the colonies. The Stamp Act was a major taxation law that led to other actions taken place. Parliament required all legal documents, newspapers and pamphlets required to use water marked, or “stamped” paper on which a levy was placed. This sought to pay some of the costs of protecting the colonies. The Stamp Act was the first direct tax on the American colonies.The revenue did not go to colonial legislatures but to Britain. Many colonists still had complaints and hardships with British colonial policies because of this act. The Virginian Resolution of 1765 was the Virginian assembly refused to comply with the Stamp Act. The Stamp Act Congress of 1765 was when representatives for nine of the thirteen colonies declared the Stamp Act unconstitutional as it was a tax levied without their consent.
Open Document