The Seven Wonders Of The Ancient World

Decent Essays

Jareth Smith the Seven Wonders 10/16/17

Of the Ancient World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World are the Great Pyramid of Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Statue of Zeus in Olympia, the Temple of Artemis in Ephesus, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes, and the Lighthouse of Alexandria. These are seven absolutely magnificent structures, built in the ancient world. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World were first called themata, which translates in Greek to ‘things to be seen’.

The Great Pyramid of Giza, located in Egypt, was built between 2583 and 2561 BCE for the Egyptian pharaoh Khufu, also Known as Cheops in Greek culture. The Great Pyramid of Giza was the tallest man-made structure for nearly 4,000 years. The excavation of the interior of the pyramid was initiated in the late 18th century and early 19th century. The structure itself, with its imposing height and perfect symmetry, is what impressed most ancient visitors. The Great Pyramid is also the only one of the Seven Wonders which still stand in fabulous condition to this day.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon are also one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The Hanging Gardens was built by the Babylonian ruler, Nebuchadnezzar, as a gift to his wife. Diodorus Sicilus, an ancient writer, had wrote that Nebuchadnezzar’s wife, Amtis of Media, had missed the beautiful landscape and flowers of her homeland, and to please his wife, Nebuchadnezzar had a temple built. The temple was

Get Access
Get Access