The Thirteen Colonies Essay

912 Words4 Pages
Thirteen Colonies The thirteen colonies started in 1607, before this England tried to do a colony called Jamestown unfortunately it failed to become a colony. Later the king that had tried to start the Jamestown colony died, then in 1607 the new king and queen Elizabeth I decided to try again this time it worked the first colony was called Virginia and was named after Queen Elizabeth I. Virginia was not dominated by a specific religion they welcomed Baptists, Anglicans, and others. The thirteen colonies included Virginia, Delaware, New York, Massachusetts, Maryland, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, North Carolina, South Carolina, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Georgia. Before the colonies became states they had a few issues. They had a statement that said “no taxation without representation” this means that they believed that the parliament could not tax them and that only their own government could tax them. After the French and Indian war, the British had a really bad debt from the war and they were already having everyone in England pay enough so they decided that they were going to tax the colonists. The first thing they passed was a law called the Stamp Act. The Stamp Act taxed anything that was printed that included legal documents, bills of sale, calendars, pamphlets, contracts, ships papers, donations, diplomas, certificates (including marriage), Any kind of decelerations, official documents, advertisements in papers, licenses including liquor, playing
Get Access