Old English poems

Page 1 of 50 - About 500 essays
  • The Wife's Lament Essay

    1532 Words  | 7 Pages

    can be found due to the fact that whoever wrote this poem is dead and that the answer will always be in speculation even if it is correct. Hopefully, at the end of this quest I will be slightly more enlightened as to who the true speaker may really be. There are some things that we do know about this poem. It is most often referred to as an elegy because of the mood of mourning and regret. Upon further reading I discovered that this poem is like others of its time period. Many

  • Imagery in the Old English Poem Beowulf Essay

    3689 Words  | 15 Pages

    Popular Imagery in the Old English Poem Beowulf       Some popular elements of imagery in Beowulf are the mead-hall, the sea, swords, armor including shields. Let us discuss these items and, where applicable, the archaeological support for them.   Remaining true to the Anglo-Saxon culture’s affinity for mead (ale/beer/wine), the characters of Beowulf partake frequently of the strong beverage. And the mead hall was their home away from home, with more entertainments than just fermented

  • Essay on The Mead-hall in the Old English Poem Beowulf

    1036 Words  | 5 Pages

    The Mead-hall in the Old English Poem Beowulf       What was the function and nature of a mead-hall in the Heroic Age of Beowulf? Was it more than a tavern for the dispensing and consumption of alcoholic beverages, and occasionally precious gifts? Yes, much more.   Remaining true to the Anglo-Saxon culture’s affinity for mead (ale/beer/wine), the characters of Beowulf partake frequently of the strong beverage. And the mead hall was their home away from home, with more entertainments

  • Materialism In Wlf And Eadwacer

    1105 Words  | 5 Pages

    The poem Wulf and Eadwacer displays a number of typical characteristics associated with the genre of the Old English Elegies. In this essay I aim to identify such defining characteristics and discuss why, from Paul Muldoon's translation, Wulf and Eadwacer is in every sense an Old English Elegy. I will examine the environment in which the poem is set, the theme of social isolation, the 'lif is laene' motif, the 'ubi sunt' lamentation and the medieval concept of 'wyrd'. I will highlight and support

  • Exodus : A Culturally Blended Anglo Saxon Britain

    1398 Words  | 6 Pages

    Brenna Hubschman Professor Jones English 4513 24 September 2017 “Exodus” in a Culturally Blended, Anglo Saxon Britain The Old English poem “Exodus” exemplifies the complex mixture of influencing forces within Anglo Saxon culture at the time of its writing. As discussed in class, sixth and seventh century (the time leading up to the creation of “Exodus”) Britain were periods of increased Christian missionary work. It is important to note, however, that while Christian missionaries began to greatly

  • Beowulf: The Canonization of Anglo-Saxon Literature into Modern Popular Culture

    769 Words  | 4 Pages

    Don't tell me D.C. is doing "Classics Illustrated?" No. NOT "Classic Illustrated," but REAL LIVE action and adventure stories! BEOWULF is the oldest surviving piece of English literature. It's an epic poem in the vein of "The Odyssey" and "The Illiad," author unknown. It has been hailed as one of the masterpieces of the English language. It's EXCITING!" (2). Despite eighteen preceding pages featuring Beowulf fighting monsters and saving beautiful women, Uslan assumes that the target audience

  • Beowulf Analysis

    821 Words  | 4 Pages

    its historical and its canonical position in English literature. By the time the story of Beowulf was composed by an unknown Anglo-Saxon poet around 700 a.d., much of its material had been in circulation in oral narrative for many years. The Anglo-Saxon and Scandinavian peoples had invaded the island of Britain and settled there several hundred years earlier, bringing with them several closely related Germanic languages that would evolve into Old English. Elements of the Beowulf story—including its

  • The Metrics Of English Literature

    4721 Words  | 19 Pages

    The Metrics of English Candidate Number: 27090222 School Number: 84   The Metrics of English Fred: Welcome ladies and gentlemen to this lovely evening in the city of London in the world renowned Globe Theatre. Today we are joined by two guests, Sylvia Miller and Joseph Johnson and I am your host, Fred Phillips. Both our guests having many years of linguistics and literature experience will analyse several texts that belong to different stages of the English language and compare their

  • Essay about Bone Dreams by Seamus Heaney

    1953 Words  | 8 Pages

    an obscure and difficult poem to understand. In all my searching on the internet, I found very little to help me in my analysis of this poem and so the ideas are basically my own. I might be wide of the mark, but for anybody struggling to understand this poem, it might at least give you some ideas of your own. I make no apology for asking questions or for sounding vague or even muddled in places. I hope that this essay is of help to somebody, somewhere. The poem begins in a thoughtful mood;

  • Trace the Development of English Lit During Any One Period...as Part of Your Discussion Highlight How Significant Events in the Influence the Writing...Additionally Show How Characteristics of the Genre the Writer Uses

    3085 Words  | 13 Pages

    Trace the development of English lit during any one period...As part of your discussion highlight how significant events in the influence the writing...Additionally show how characteristics of the genre the writer uses reflects the period in which it was written. James Arthur Baldwin once stated that: "know from whence you came. If you know whence you came, there are absolutely no limitations to where you can go." This quotation may apply to the span of the Anglo-Saxon period because of the coherent

Previous
Page12345678950