5 Pillars Of Islam Research Paper

Better Essays
Religion of Saudi Arabia

Islam is defined as, “the monotheistic religion based on the doctrine of submission to God and of Muhammad as the last chief and prophet of God”(Dictionary 720). There are multiple practices included in the religion of Islam, similar to any other religion. Compared to Christianity or Judaism, when one follows Islam, one must follow The Five Pillars of Islam and the rules and circumstances of the worshipping practices. In addition, depending on the branch one is apart of, they may have to follow laws enforced by different prophets as well. One’s lifestyle will change because when following Islamic faith, their religious life is their main priority. Meaning, a Muslim makes the commitment to the practices one-hundred
…show more content…
One of the Five Pillars keep the people from sinning and actually enforce that you do good for society. Other Pillars include rules such as fasting or praying. One of the Five Pillars is Shahadah, sincerely reciting the Muslim profession of faith. It is the same as how Christians get baptized. The person going through Shahadah will recite the profession of faith, which, in english, is, “There is no god but God and Muhammad is his messenger” (Muslim 1). When one says the Shahadah, he or she is stating that he or she believes the Allah is the only god, Allah never had a son, and that he is indivisible. Then there is the Hajj, another Pillar of Islam. Hajj is the pilgrimage to Mecca. The Hajj is an event held from the 8th to the 12th of the last month on the Islamic calendar which is Dhu al-Hijjah. It is considered mandatory for any Islamic adult who is financially stable to participate in the Hajj. If one fulfills those circumstances they are considered mustati. “During Hajj, pilgrims join processions of hundreds of thousands of people, who simultaneously converge on Mecca for the week of the Hajj, and perform a series of rituals such as: each person walks counter-clockwise seven times around…show more content…
I bear witness that there are not gods but God.

I bear witness that Muhammad is the Messenger of God.

Come to prayer.

Come to felicity.

[Prayer is better than sleep]

Our prayers are now ready. Our prayers are now ready.

God is the most great.

There is no deity save God (The Threshold).

During the Salat, one would say that prayer 5 times throughout each day.

Finally, the last Pillar of the five is called Zakat. Zakat is paying alms or charity to poor people and in need. It is the same as if you were to give a homeless man a dollar or some change out of generosity. Instead of just being generous, however, Zakat enforces that you must give charity to the needy. Changing their life, as well as the donor's life. Through The Five Pillars, lifestyle is changed through numerous ways for anybody practicing the Islam
Get Access