The Five Pillars Of Islam

989 Words4 Pages
No matter how sincerely a person may believe, it is pointless to live life without putting that faith into action and practice. The most important Muslim practices are the Five Pillars of Islam. These duties are rooted in the teachings of the Qur’an and in the example of the prophet, Muhammad. Therefore, Muslims are expected to observe them with the utmost respect and devotion. These pillars form the foundation for all good deeds and acts of worship to God. And, carrying out the Five Pillars demonstrates that faith comes first.
The profession of faith, shahadah, is the first of the Five Pillars. The shahada is the most fundamental expression of Islamic beliefs and the most important pillar of Islam. It simply states that "There is
…show more content…
However, if they pray with the men, they do so from behind them or in a separate group.
The giving of alms, zakat, is the third pillar. An important principle of Islam is that everything belongs to God, and that wealth is held in trust by human beings. Muslims believe they are meant to share their wealth with those less fortunate. By doing so, they acknowledge that they are rich or poor by God's choice; therefore, they should help those he has chosen to make poor. However, zakat does not refer to charitable gifts given out of kindness but rather to the “giving a specified percentage on certain properties to certain classes of needy people.” Muslims regard zakat as an important religious duty, a type of worship and self-purification. In fact, the Qur’an addresses almsgiving as an essential quality of an honest Muslim, a gateway into heaven.
Sawm, fasting during Ramadan, is the fourth and, perhaps, the most demanding of the Five Pillars. During the holy month of Ramadan, the ninth month in the Islamic calendar, Muslims are expected to abstain from food, drink and sexual relations from dawn until sundown. Alcohol and tobacco are prohibited the entire month. Those who are sick, elderly, and women who are menstruating, pregnant or nursing, are excused from the fast and allowed to make up an equal number of days later in the year provided they are healthy and able. Children begin to fast and observe prayers from puberty, although many start earlier.

More about The Five Pillars Of Islam

Open Document