The Civil War : The Causes Of The Civil War

785 Words4 Pages
Convinced that no common ground could be shared with one another, the process of disunion between the North and the South in American began promptly after the news of Abraham’s election reached the South in 1860. On December 20, 1860, a special convention in South Carolina voted unanimously to withdraw from the Union, followed by the secession of six other states: Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas. Representatives from these seceded states met in 1861 and announced their new nation as the Confederate States of America, immediately seizing arms and forts within their boundaries. After Buchanan refused to yield Fort Sumter to the rebels, Confederates fired at an unarmed merchant ship with troops and supplies, forcing it to turn back. Subsequently, the Crittenden Compromise, which guaranteed the permanent existence of slavery in the slave states as well as reestablished the Missouri Compromise line, was proposed, but ultimately failed due to the lack of Republican support. Newly inaugurated President Abraham Lincoln then sent a relief expedition to the fort, which was combatted with Confederate bombardment for two days, forcing the Union to surrender on April 14, 1861. With the immediate mobilization of the North and secession of four more slave states from the Union (Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee), the Civil War of America had now begun. As two opposing sides, both the Union and the Confederacy possessed their own advantages

More about The Civil War : The Causes Of The Civil War

Get Access