The Cordillera Administrative Region Profile

2268 Words Aug 13th, 2012 10 Pages
THE CORDILLERA ADMINISTRATIVE REGION * Dubbed as the “ Watershed Cradle of North Luzon” - because it hosts 9 major rivers that provide continuous water for irrigation and energy for Northern Luzon (it will start here the various rivers, the Cagayan River and the Agno River / “La Montañosa” * Is the Philippines’ only land locked region * It is consisted of the 6 provinces – Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, and Mountain Province. * It encompasses most of the areas within the Cordillera Central mountain range of Luzon – which is the largest range in the country * The region is home of the numerous indigenous tribes which are collectively called the Igorot * It has a total population of 1, 728, 687 up to date * The …show more content…
7878 (R.A. 7878) which was signed, by then, President Fidel V. Ramos on February 14, 1995 that the province of Kalinga – Apayao was converted into two separate and regular provinces, this was ratified (approved) in a plebiscite (poll / survey) that was held on the 8th of May 1995 * However, it was required by the Constitution that the act, R.A. 6766 has to be ratified by the people in a plebiscite, which was originally scheduled on the 27th day of December 1995 but was reset to the 30th day January 1996 by the virtue (benefit) of the Commission on Elections – by then, it was only the Ifugao who voted favorably to make the region autonomous * Through the Republic Act No. 8438 (R.A. 8438) dated December 22, 1997, it was then created the Cordillera Autonomous Region – then on January 1998, a group of lawyers challenged the constitutionality of the act, a plebiscite was held again on the 9th day of March 1997 but then the act was invalidated, the region was created but reduced to a regular administrative region

Open Document