Work Related Forms And Laws

1101 Words5 Pages
5.1, Page 96, Work-Related Forms and Laws
Key Terms Review
1.f, unemployment insurance
2.e, minimum wage
3.a, allowances
4.c, form W-2
5.g, workers’ compensation
6.b, exempt status
Check Your Understanding
7. If you do not fill out your form w-4 properly, what is likely to happen?
The IRS expects you to fill out IRS Form W-4, Employee 's Withholding Allowance Certificate, soon after your start a new job. The W-4 helps to calculate how much tax should be withheld from each of your paychecks. If you don 't fill out a W-4, the IRS requires your employer to withhold taxes at the highest rate, which is as a single taxpayer with no allowances for dependents.
8. What should you do if you lose your social security card
If your Social Security
…show more content…
So using a new number will not guarantee you a fresh start. This is especially true if your other personal information, such as your name and address, remains the same
9. The law that protects me if my spouse wants time off to have a baby is The Family and Medical Leave Act, this law also protects me from medical leave if I’m unable to work because of a serious health condition, and if I’m taking care of immediate family member with a serious health problem.
Apply Your Knowledge
10. The minimum wage in NJ is $8.38/hour. The state with the most minimum wage is Washington at $9.47/hour. The states with the less minimum wage are Georgia, and Wyoming at $5.15.
State, Minimum Wage per Hour
Alabama, none
Alaska, $8.75
Arizona, $8.05
Arkansas, $7.50
California, $9.00
Colorado, $8.23
Connecticut, $9.15
Delaware, $8.25
Florida, $8.05
Georgia, $5.15
Hawaii, $7.75
Idaho, $7.25

Illinois, $8.25
Indiana, $7.25
Iowa, $7.25
Kansas, $7.25
Kentucky, $7.25
Louisiana, None
Maine, $7.50
Montana, $8.05/$4.00
Maryland, $8.25
Massachusetts, $9.00
Michigan, $8.15

Minnesota, $9.00/$7.25
Mississippi, none
Missouri, $7.65
Nebraska, $8.00
Nevada, $8.25/$7.25
New Hampshire, 7.25
New Jersey, $8.38
New Mexico, $7.50

New York, $8.75
North Carolina, $7.25 North Dakota, $7.25
Ohio, $8.10/$7.25
Oklahoma, $7.25/$2.00
Oregon, $9.25
Pennsylvania, $7.25
Rhode Island, $9.00
South Carolina, none South Dakota, $8.50
Tennessee, none
Texas, $7.25
Utah, $7.25
Get Access