Asked Sep 27, 2019

What are the different types of plant growth ? 


Expert Answer

Step 1

Most of the plants continue to grow for their whole life. Just like the other multicellular organisms, plants grow by the help of cell division and cell growth. Cell growth causes the cell size to increase and mitosis (cell division) results in the increase in cell number. As the plant grows, its cells become specialized and differentiated, to perform different functions.

Step 2

Meristem is the main cause of growth and development in plants. It is a kind of plant tissue, that contains undifferentiated cells, that divide and differentiate throughout a plant’s life. There are two main types of meristematic tissues, apical meristems, and secondary meristems.

  1. Apical meristems- The main function of this tissue is to increase the length and height of the plants. It is present at the apex of stems and roots and is responsible for the elongation of stem and growth of roots. This tissue also helps in the differentiation of leaves and flowers. Apical meristem is basically divided into three types of tissue:

a) Protoderm tissue – It is responsible for the production of the new epidermis.

b) Ground meristem – It is responsible for the production of ground tissue.

c) Procambium tissue &n...

Want to see the full answer?

See Solution

Check out a sample Q&A here.

Want to see this answer and more?

Solutions are written by subject experts who are available 24/7. Questions are typically answered within 1 hour.*

See Solution
*Response times may vary by subject and question.
Tagged in




Related Biology Q&A

Find answers to questions asked by student like you
Show more Q&A

Q: Escherichia coli and other bacteria methylate adenines on the original strand to distinguish the ori...

A: When growing a cell divide, they need to copy their genetic material and distribute it to ensure tha...


Q: What are homologous chromosomes?

A: Homologous chromosomes that are also known as homologs, come one from each parent. In other words, w...


Q: Please answer this question: You place a dialysis bag containing 0.1 M sucrose and 0.3 M maltose (a ...

A: Osmosis is the spontaneous net movement of solvent molecules through a selectively permeable membran...


Q: A metabotropic receptor Is a G protein coupled receptor May activate ion channels All of these...

A: Neurotransmitter receptor can be categorized into two types, namely ionotropic and metabotropic rece...


Q: No Signal Your Sets Quizlet X Summative Quiz for Ch B Homepage Fall 2019 Biol https://www.macmillanh...

A: Nucleic acids, and DNA in particular, are key macromolecules for continuity of life. DNA contain gen...


Q: What is the two factors determining the primary structure of a polypeptide chain

A: The factors that determine the primary structure of the polypeptide chain include peptide bonds and ...


Q: components of a relfex arc

A:  A reflex, or reflex action, is an involuntary and nearly instantaneous movement in response to a st...


Q: Which enzymes catalyze the chain elongation steps during replication, transcription and translation,...

A: The enzymes that catalyze the chain elongation steps during replication are as follows: DNA polymera...


Q: What is the difference between homozygous and heterozygous? I am having trouble distinguishing betwe...

A: The alternate forms of gene are referred as allele. An allele determines the hereditary characterist...