Cumberland Metal Industries is evaluating a new product that makes pile driving less costly and more efficient. The product is a cushion pad made from curled metal that prevents the shock of a hammer from damaging the hammer or the pile. Currently the industry uses asbestos pads and is the only form of competition the company faces. If adopted there is potential to sell 29,000 to 39,000 sets of pads (6 pads per set) annually. The most important issue CMI management faces is setting the price of each pad, in the words of Robert Minicucci “ The way we price this could have a significant impact on everything else we do with it.” CMI will consider a range or pricing options such as cost based pricing, competitor based …show more content…
Provided that CMI chooses to invest $50,000 the costs are as such:
Manufacturing cost = 69.18
Contribution Margin (50% of selling price) = 69.18
Total Price = $138.36
Manufacturing Cost = 148.12
Contribution Margin(50% of selling price) = 148.12
Selling Price = $296.24
Using this method CMI can ensure it meets it’s contribution margin requirements, but this method does not consider the savings of efficiency and reduced change time.
Competitor Based pricing
In this method CMI will price their products at a similar price to Asbestos pads. In the Colerick test the total number of sets of Asbestos pads used = 20 and cost per set = $50. The total cost of the job was $1000.00. In the Fazio Construction test the cost per set = $40 and number of sets used = 50. We can use this data to give us a range of how much the cushion pads should cost to be competitive.
Colerick Total Cost for job = 20 * 50 = $1000 Fazio Cost for job= 40*50=$2000
Number of Cushion Pads used= 6 Number of Cushion Pads= 5
Cost per cushion pad = 1000/6= $166.67 Cost per cushion pad=$400
To be competitive CMI must price their product in between this range, a good estimate is $300.00. Provided CMI invests in permanent tooling it will still provide a good profit and be a very competitive price.
Value Based Costing
Value based Costing takes into account all the other
Click here to unlock this and over one million essaysGet Access
• The first alternative we will focus on is the Economic Value to the Customer (EVC). Hence we have to determine the price that will make a risk-neutral customer, who considers only economic benefits, indifferent between buying either our cushion pad or the ones supplied by alternative offers. We first measure the added values of CMI’s pad compared to a conventional one, then we monetize it, and finally decide the amount we are willing to leave on the table in order to make our product more attractive to the customer. The EVC is measured on the basis of both Kendrick and Corey data (see appendix 1). Looking at Kendrick first we found that the EVC was $4.260,4 and after leaving 40% to the customer, we priced the pad at $2.556,24. Based on Corey’s figures, the EVC was $5.712,58 and after leaving 40% to the customer the price was $3.427,49 per pad.
S.P. is admitted to the orthopedic ward. She has fallen at home and she has sustained an intracapsular fracture of the hip at the femoral neck. The following history is obtained from her: She is a 75-year-old widow with three children living nearby. Her father died of cancer at age 62; mother died of heart failure at age 79. Her height is 5’3 and weighs 118 pounds. She has a 50 pack year smoking history and denies alcohol use. She has severe Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA) and had an upper GI bleed in 1993 and had Coronary Artery Disease with CABG 9 months ago. Since that time, she has engaged in “very mild exercise at home.” Vital signs are 128/60, 98, 14, 99 degree farenheight (32.7 degrees C) SAO2 94%
To calculate optimal pricing I used MC outlined in the case as based on volume of drives produced weekly. Fixed costs of plant and equipment were not included in this analysis although are later evaluated for breakeven time frame.
The United States Court of appeals ruled that the suppressed evidence is purely impeaching evidence and no defense request has been made, the suppressed evidence is material only if its introduction probably would have resulted in acquittal. Given a minor role of Phillips' testimony and the limited impact that Phelps statement had on the jury's assessment of Phillips credibility, Maddox could not demonstrate that so the evidence probably would have resulted in an acquittal. Also, the evidence was immaterial under United States V.Blasco; the defendant filed a joint motion to suppress all physical evidence gathered by the officers and any statements made by the defendant. The magistrate found that the defendant did not have to raise a fourth amendment challenge and its suppression did not violate his (Maddox’s) due process right. For ongoing reasons, the district court's dismissal of Maddox's habeas petition was affirmed.
Sparkle Company is a Nigerian diamond mining company. Sparkle is a joint venture, 50 percent owned by Shine and 50 percent owned by Brighten. Both Shine and Brighten are U.S.-based companies with their functional currency being the American dollar. Sparkle Companies functional currency is that of Nigeria, being the Naira. During 2009, Sparkle had several transactions with its joint venture owners and outside parties. The details of Sparkle’s transactions are three loans, three expenditures, and one revenue stream. The loans the company took out were $1 million from Brighten, $1 million from Shine, and 300 million Naira from a local Nigerian bank. The expenditures
Rockmont Precision Tooling has proven to be very successful in the last few years due to its high productive capacity. Despite the fact they are a relatively small southern manufacturer of farm machinery, with 1,600 employees, they have been competing well in its domestic as well as the international markets.
Wilkerson’s competitors have cut prices on their pumps, in order to maintain market share, Wilkerson also cut the price of their pumps. This dropped Wilkerson’s GM by about 15%. At the same time, Wilkerson was able to increase the price of their flow controllers by 10% without a drop in demand.
Siam Cement’s offer to purchase an initial order of 200 units at $9,000 per unit, would lead to a net profit of $200,000. While this immediate cash influx may seem advantageous in the short term, it will not offset yearly operational expenses of $250,000 (See Exhibit 1). Additionally, accepting Siam Cement’s offer would position Rubbertech as an Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM). This decision could impede potential growth that would far exceed the offer that is currently on the table. If Rubbertech does not accept Siam Cement’s offer, they can seize a part of
Read Rush Johnson Farms Inc. v. Missouri Farms Association, 555 S.W.2d 61 and post a draft case study to the discussion board. Identify the Facts, Issue, Holding, Reasoning and Disposition. Case study #1 will be due week 3. This exercise will help you work through the reading a case prior to receiving a grade. Use the LEXIS NEXIS database through the Webster library to access the case.
Chick-fil-A is known for their famous Chick-fil-A sandwich, but also for their private, family –controlled ownership structure, philosophy on management and biblical principles. Chick-fil-A uses the differentiation strategy to set them apart from other fast-food chains. Chick-fil-A mission was “To glorify God by being faithful steward of all that is entrusted to us and to have a positive attitude influence on all who come in contact with Chick-fil-A”, and to be “America’s best quick-serve restaurant.” One of their strategies they use to set them apart was focusing on people. This strategy included interview process, golden rule, consistent
Giuseppe is a 14-year-10 month-old, Latino male in the 8th grade referred for counseling through AB3632 from Hollywood Senior high School under the Los Angeles Unified School District. Giuseppe’s school counselor indicates Giuseppe has difficulty controlling his anger towards peers. She also shares that Giuseppe fights with his peers leading to a suspension from school for three days due to fighting. Giuseppe’s mother reports that at home he is very oppositional especially with his father. Giuseppe’s mother has made multiple threats to call the police and have him spend time at Juvenile Hall if the behaviors persist. The counselor and mother, both report that Giuseppe has an attitude problem and frequently
Suppose you are the network manager for Central University, a medium-size university with 13,000 students. The university has 10 separate colleges (e.g., business, arts, journalism), 3 of which are relatively large (300 faculty and staff members, 2,000 students, and 3 buildings) and 7 of which are relatively small (200 faculty and staff, 1,000 students, and 1 building). In addition, there are another 2,000 staff members who work in various administration departments (e.g., library, maintenance, and finance) spread over another 10 buildings. There are 4 residence halls that house a total of 2,000 students. Suppose the university has the 128.100.xxx.xxx address
Data indicates that Model C210 has a higher contribution margin per unit of the constraint. Therefore it is recommended that until the constraints in coating and sharpening are removed, production should concentrate its limited resources on production of the more profitable model. The Model C210 contributes $1250 per hour compared to $537.50 per hour given the constraint in the coating and sharpening stage.
CMI was first manufacturer for CM pads, there was no direct competition and no available selling price in the market that CMI can take reference to. In view of that, CMI could use two test results of Kendrick and Corey to determine the economic value of CM pads. According to the Appendix I, the average economic value of CMI pad was 3,304. This value had taken into account of less CM pads required per job and the cost saving in equipment and labor . But the value to the customer should be higher due to some intangible advantage, for examples, lower accident claim as fewer set changes required for CM pads. Besides, lower health claim as CM pad contained non-toxic material. In order to gain the market share for this new product, we would recommend CMI to set the price of CMI pad around 85% of economic value, saying 2,805, promote to the market that it was much cheaper to use CM pads with superior performance and cost efficiency. Besides, different discounts can be granted to the customers depend on the length of the contracts signed and volume of the pads purchased, ranging from 10% to 25%.