Separation Of Powers : A Principle Of The U.s. Government

Better Essays

Alexis Saldana
Government 2305
Summer II
August 6 2015

Separation of Powers
Separation of powers is a principle of the U.S. government, where powers and responsibilities are divided by the legislative branch, executive branch, and judicial branch. Each branch may choose to prevent action of the other branches through the system of checks and balances. The framers of the Constitution designed this system to make sure that no branch would gain too much power and that issues of public policy and welfare would be given consideration before any action was taken. The concept of Separation of Powers is included in the Constitution in the 1st Article, in the 2nd Article, and in the 3rd Article. The Legislative is composed of the House and Senate, which is set up in Article 1. The Executive includes of the President, Vice-President, and the departments, which is set up in Article 2. The Judicial is composed of the federal courts and the Supreme Court, which is set up in Article 3. The different branches of government have different responsibilities. In the Executive branch they veto power over all bills, makes treaties, and ensures all laws are carried out. In the Legislature branch they pass all federal laws, establish all lower federal courts, they can override a Presidential veto and can impeach the President. In the Judicial branch they have the power to try federal cases and interpret the laws. As I continue in my paper I will discuss the different concepts that

Get Access