The Government Is Made Up Of Three Branches Essay

Good Essays

Our government is made up of three branches. The executive branch, held by the president, the judicial branch, led by the Supreme Court, and the legislative branch, which is Congress. The legislative branch is the largest of the three and is made up of two parts. This is the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives. America developed the structure of the legislative branch when the Founding Fathers wrote Article I of the Constitution. Each state has two U.S. Senators and at least one U.S. Representative. The larger the population of the state, the more Representatives it has. The U.S. Constitution sets the qualifications to be a member of the House and Senate. Both senators and representatives must be citizens of their state. House members have to be legal citizens for seven years, and senate members have had to be legal citizens for nine years. Senators have to have the minimum age of thirty, and House members have to have the minimum age of twenty-five. All of these members make up Congress. There are currently 435 members in the House of Representatives, 100 members in the Senate, and five delegates, bringing our total to 535 members of Congress. The Founding Fathers, or Framers, wanted, and expected, the members of the House be more responsible to the people. They were selected by the Fathers, and were up for reelection every two years. Framers chose senators that best represented their states’ interests. This was later changed by the 17th Amendment, which

Get Access