The Six Stages Of Kohlberg 's Moral Development

2377 Words10 Pages
EXAM – 1
BUS 522 – Dr. S. Jasso
APU Summer 2016

a. The six stages of Kohlberg’s moral development:

Level I. Preconventional Morality
• STAGE 1: Punishment and Obedience – Right and wrong is determined by rewards and punishment. Our behavior is motivated by fear of being punished;; an example of this would be that most people will not steal for fear of being punished (i.e. going to jail).
• STAGE 2: Instrumental Relativist Orientation - aka – looking out for number one (oneself); an individual is likely to do what is necessary to satisfy one’s self-interest; an example of this would be when a child completes a chore or exhibits a certain behavior in order to receive a reward (money or toy).
Level II. Conventional Morality
• STAGE 3: "Good Boy – Nice Girl" Orientation - Behavior is motivated by the acceptance of the rules and standards. Individuals at this stage seek please others, parents, teachers or friends often seeking approval and conforming to others expectations; an example of this is when an individual is accused of doing something wrong, (i.e. smoking, drinking) they justify their behavior by saying “everyone else does it”.
• STAGE 4: Law and Order Orientation - Individuals at this stage have adopted society’s rules about how to behave and feel a sense of duty to conform to society’s laws and norms; at this stage individuals see their responsibility or part in maintaining social order and leaders are assumed to be right; an
Get Access