Kohlberg 's Stages Of Moral Development

Good Essays

Kohlberg’s stages of moral development were based on a moral philosopher by the name of Lawrence Kohlberg. His main interest was to observe children during growth to develop and conclude which stages they best fit into. After observing both adults and children, he concluded that, “Human beings progress consecutively from one stage to the next in an invariant sequence” (“Kohlberg’s Stages of Moral Development”). All of the 6 stages he created, represent the morality in which a child or adult can be at; he created an age zone for each stage. There are a total of 6 stages but each main concept consists of 3 levels. Level 1 is the preconventional stage. This stage focuses on punishment/obedience and how the person decides to act due to the …show more content…

Typically little children tend to behave this way but some adults use this type of moral thinking in their daily lives. Using this type of behavior is usually due to situations where the situation may be wrong but the action was provoked by the person 's definition of fair or the right thing to do no matter what. The question that may be asked while thinking in this manner may be, “What must I do to avoid pain, gain pleasure?”(“Kohlberg 's Stages of Moral Development”). In this stage, making a decision that leads to a positive outcome clearly shows increase in the hierarchy of moral development that can be seen in level 3!
Stage 2 is based upon a person’s own benefit. This stage hardly displays any development in accordance with level 2 and 3 because this stage uses actions that are provoked by the person 's own desire for “getting even” or getting revenge, “Individual does what is necessary, makes concessions only as necessary to satisfy his/her own desires”(“Kohlberg’s Stages of Moral Development”). To be in this stage, means that one seeks to improve their own life or make another one 's harder. It can also be encouraged by using the excuse as being as an act of justice or that justice is now served. A person usually thinks in a way such as, “an eye for an eye” or “if you scratch my back i’ll scratch yours” type of way. No progress is made if in this constant state.
Level 2 is very important as it is the level

Get Access
Get Access