Characteristics Of Bacteria, Archaea, And Eukaryote

Decent Essays

Amer Younas
Professor Pavan Vedula
General Microbiology
24 July 2015

Flavobacterium Capsulatum There are three main domains of life, which consist of Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukaryote. These complex cells have various characteristics that are all unique to each domain, thus causing a separation. However, as biologists such as Carl Woese and Lynn Margulis have theorized and explained, Bacteria and Eukaryotes have all branched from a common ancestor millions of years ago; and a few decades back, Archaea were added creating the third domain. Although these domains are all unique with regards to their processes, proteins, and properties, the one of the most studied cells are that of the domain, bacteria. Bacteria are extremely unique in regards to their structures, processes, and characteristics. An example of unique bacteria is the microorganism, Flavobacterium Capsulatum. The bacteria, Flavobacterium Capsulatum, can be broken into its taxonomy, which can further explain what type of microbe the bacterium is. The bacterium, Flavobacterium Capsulatum, is characterized into the phylum bacteroidetes, as an aerobic bacillus. An aerobic bacillus are rod shaped cells that contain a capsule and do require oxygen to perform metabolic processes and to grow, thus oxygen will increase rate of production. Furthermore, according to the Public Health Agency of Canada, such phylum of bacteria are generally bile resistant, found in the intestinal tracts of humans and other animals, are

Get Access