The Three Levels Of Canada's Form Of Government

785 Words4 Pages
What form of government does Canada have?
Canada’s form of government can be described as three different levels; the federal government, provincial and territorial governments, and municipal (local) governments. Canada also has a Constitutional Monarchy and a Parliamentary meaning Canada recognizes Queen Elizabeth II as the head of the state, their prime minister, Justin Trudeau, as the head of the government and the governor general as the representation of the queen in Canada.
Define and explain this form of government
Canada’s main government can be described in three different levels, the highest level is the Federal Government. The Prime Minister is the head of the federal government (he lives in Ottawa) and the federal government's duties consist of national and international matters. The next level is the Provincial and Territorial Governments. These governments are lead by a premier and they have to power to change and manage their laws and control their public lands. The lowest level of government is the Municipal (local) governments, lead by a mayor, the municipal government runs local cities or districts. They are in charge of things that directly relate to their town or cities or district.
The Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary government means that Queen Elizabeth II is still recognized as the queen/ head of state in Canada and she also appoints the governor general. Canada has elections to determine who will become Members of Parliament (MPs) and the
Open Document