United States Government And The Government

3865 WordsJul 4, 201516 Pages
United States government is established by the constitution. United States is a federal republic country. The government consists of a federal power led by the president. There are state governments to assist in the decision makings by the federal government. United States federal government is divided into three different branches. The constitution allows a separation of power among the government. Legislative branch creates laws. They also have the ability to declare war on other countries. Inside the branch, the Senate, the House of Representatives, or the congress, and other agencies, are elected by the citizens. There are 100 senators and 435 representatives. In Georgia, the two Senators are Johnny Isakson and David Perdue. Some of the representatives include Buddy Carter, John Lewis, and Robert Woodall. Executive branch enacts the laws. It enforces the laws created by the legislative branch. The branch consists of a president, vice president, members of the Cabinet, and other agencies and committees. The president is a vital leader to the nation. Once elected, he leads the Armed Forces as a commander-in-chief and serves for four years. The vice-president carries out the role of a president if the president is unable to serve. The cabinet members are chosen by the president and confirmed by the Senate. They act as aides to the president. The current president is Barack Obama, vice president is Joseph R. Biden. An example of a Cabinet member is Secretary Penny
Open Document