Stages Of Grief By Elisabeth Kubler Ross

Good Essays
Stages of Grief
Elaine Skrdlant
Walden University Stages of Grief

Stages of Grief
Elisabeth Kübler-Ross developed methods for counseling after personal traumas and grief related to the death and dying process. Higher stages of grief implementation, utilization occurs within the grief and hospice care. Kubler-Ross and Kessler (nd) indicates that misunderstanding surrounds her stages of death as those focused on the typical responses that people experience when they suffer a loss. Kubler-Ross and Kessler acknowledge how everyone is unique, and this includes his or her grieving process. Within the framework of this model, the first stage of loss is denial. The emphasis on death and dying are for the person who is dying. Within the grieving process, the family is in denial that the loved one has died. This process is more figurative rather than factual. Denial is a defense mechanism implemented as they are not ready to acknowledge the loss of a loved one. When the individual becomes stronger, the denial diminishes, and the emotions began to surface.
The second step within this model is he emergence of the anger stage. Accordingly, anger comes out in different ways. Losing loved results in anger towards yourself, God, the doctors and the person who died. Kubler-Ross and Kessler (nd) indicates anger is an important component of the healing process to continue. Individuals must work through anger at his or her pace. The third component of this model is the
Get Access