ISC451 media math assignment
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ISC 451 Fall 2022
Media Math Assignment
30 points possible (Each question3 pts each)
Old school media first. Refer to the information below to answer questions 1-7. Be sure to show your work for each question – that’s part of the points.
U.S. TV HHs = 122,400,000
U.S. adults 18-34 = 76,100,000
U.S. adults 18-49 = 138,200,000
U.S. adults 25-54 = 102,867,000
HUT = 104,040,000 (85%)
: Commercial cost for programs listed (these aren’t real)
Station 19 = $97,449
Grey’s Anatomy = $186,026
Big Sky = $112,465
Young Sheldon = $160,698
United States of Al = $107,161
Ghosts = $90,315
How We Roll = $71,616
Bull = $89,981
Law & Order Encore = $100,987
Law & Order SVU = $108,236
Law & Order Organized Crime = $102,339
Masterchef Junior = $72,253
Call Me Kat = $113,181
Welcome to Flatch = $24,292
Walker = $21,326
Legacies = $25,432
1.
Calculate the Adults 18-49 CPM for Grey’s Anatomy. Total Cost/ Gross Impression/ 1000
Total Cost: $186,026
Rating: 0.0055
138,200,000*.0055= 760100
186,026/760100/1000= 244.74
CPM= $244.74 2.
Calculate the Adults 18-34 reach for Young Sheldon. Reach= GRP/ Frequency Rating: 0.32
3.
Assume that an advertiser ran one ad on Big Sky, one on Ghosts and one on Masterchef Junior. Calculate the GRPs for Adults 25-54. (Assume no duplicated reach) .44+.96+.58= 1.98
4.
Calculate the gross impressions for the same media buy as in #3.
102,867,000*0.00198= 203676.66
5.
Calculate the Cost Per Impression (CPI) for the schedule above.
$112,465+90,315+72,253= 275,033/2036766.6
CPI= $0.14
6.
Explain how the ratings for Adults 25-54 would have been determined. The rating is the percentage of adults ages 25-34 exposed at least once.
7.
Would the shares for these programs have been higher or lower than the listed ratings? Why?
This is because the number of people exposed would be greater than the average shares
and the ratings would be higher than the shares. Now moving to digital. Again, don’t forget to show your work!
UK buys a banner ad on the main Google search site. The university pays $17,242.50 for the ad; it receives 75,000 impressions, and 4,125 viewers click through to the application page. 150 actually apply.
8.
Calculate the click-through rate. # of clicks/impressions
4,125/75,000= 0.055
=5.5%
9.
Calculate the cost per click.
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